Sample Book and Events – William Morris Gallery Residency No 7

My sample book of indigo textiles is now on display at the gallery.  I am still experimenting and improvements in the weather have enabled me to achieve much darker blues, more even coverage and explore different indigo recipes.  I will post some photos very soon as I am also working on the printed version of all the samples which will go on display at the gallery in the next few weeks.

Hope you can join me this weekend I am hosting a lovely film, Indigo Textiles amongst the Yoruba, the director Thorolf Lipp has kindly given me permission to show the film to a public audience for free. There will also be some vintage Nigerian textiles on display.  Duncan Clarke from Vintage African Textiles has been very generous in lending them to me for the film screening and post film discussion. His textiles are beautiful examples of the Nigerian Yoruba technique, Adire Eleko, where cassava paste is used to create patterns and resist indigo dye.  You can read about these textiles and see some photos on Duncan’s website and you can find him in Alfie’s Antiques Market, London NW8  http://www.adireafricantextiles.com

Print

2col_TRAID

Leave a Reply

